## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Robert W. Hayes Jr. Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE July 31, 2017

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 13, 2017, with the hearings commencing at 9 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

<u>Supreme Court</u> Seat 3	The Honorable John W. Kittredge, Greenville, SC
<u>Court of Appeals</u> Seat 8	The Honorable Thomas E. Huff, North Augusta, SC
<u>Circuit Court</u> 3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Kristi Fisher Curtis, Sumter, SC Samuel LaNue Floyd, Kingstree, SC Ryan Kirk Griffin, Sumter, SC Timothy Ward Murphy, Sumter, SC
4 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Chesterfield, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable L. Casey Manning, Columbia, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC
8 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Eugene Cannon Griffith Jr., Prosperity, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Kristi Lea Harrington, Hanahan, SC
10 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Walhalla, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William Paul Keesley, Edgefield, SC

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Amy V. Cofield, Lexington, SC
	Donna Elder, Lexington, SC
	David Shawn Graham, Lexington, SC
	Kyliene Lee Keesley, West Columbia, SC
	Ralph Shealy Kennedy Jr, Leesville, SC
	Robert Michael Madsen, Lexington, SC
	Walton J. McLeod IV, Columbia, SC
	Stephen Jahue Moore, Columbia, SC
12 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Michael Nettles, Lake City, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Letitia Hamilton Verdin, Greenville, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Alex Kinlaw Jr., Greenville, SC
	Andrew (Andy) Burke Moorman Sr., Greer, SC
	John (Jack) Patrick Riordan, Greenville, SC
	The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
14 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Perry McPherson Buckner III, Walterboro, SC
16 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Bryson John Barrowclough, Tega Cay, SC
	Lisa G. Collins, Rock Hill, SC
	William Angus McKinnon, Rock Hill, SC
	Leah B. Moody, Rock Hill, SC
	James Michael Morton, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 9	Jerome P. Askins III, Johnsonville, SC
	Meredith L. Coker, Charleston, SC
	The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Beaufort, SC
	Joseph M. Epting Jr., Irmo, SC
	Joey Randell Floyd, Columbia, SC
	Jenny A. Horne, Summerville, SC
	Meliah Bowers Jefferson, Greenville, SC
	The Honorable Jennifer Blanchard McCoy, Charleston, SC
	Grady L. Patterson III, Columbia, SC
	The Honorable Kelly Pope-Black, Campobello, SC
	The Honorable Susan O. Porter, Columbia, SC
	Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, SC
	Benjamin Chad Simpson, Charleston, SC
	Sara Heather Savitz Weiss, Columbia, SC

<u>Family Court</u> 2 <sup>nd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Angela W. Abstance, Barnwell, SC J. Cameron (Cam) Halford, Barnwell, SC
3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Thomas Murray Bultman, Sumter, SC Edgar Robert Donnald Jr., Sumter, SC Ernest Joseph Jarrett, Kingstree, SC
6 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Catherine S. Hendrix, Blair, SC Debra A. Matthews, Blackstock, SC
8 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Bryan C. Able, Laurens, SC Ashley Phillips Case, Fountain Inn, SC Matthew Price Turner, Laurens, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Huntley Smith Crouch, Lexington, SC
12 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable John Rogers Kirven, Florence, SC FitzLee Howard McEachin, Florence, SC Stuart Wesley Snow Sr., Florence, SC The Honorable Elizabeth Biggerstaff York, Florence, SC
<u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 5	The Honorable Shirley Canty Robinson, Columbia, SC
Master-in-Equity	
Florence County	William Haigh Porter, Florence, SC
York County	David Eugene Simpson, Rock Hill, SC Teasa Kay Weaver, York, SC
<u>Retired Judges</u> Circuit Court	The Honorable Thomas W. Cooper Jr., Manning, SC
Circuit Court	The Honorable Roger L. Couch, Spartanburg, SC
Circuit Court	The Honorable Thomas Leslie Hughston Jr., Charleston, SC
Circuit Court	The Honorable Howard Pickett King, Sumter, SC
Circuit Court	The Honorable Alexander Stephens Macaulay, West Union, SC
Family Court	The Honorable Peter Raymond Nuessle, Aiken, SC

Family Court	The Honorable James A. Spruill III, Cheraw, SC
Family Court	The Honorable Donna Savoca Strom, Columbia, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, October 30, 2017.** The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the website at <u>www.scstatehouse.gov/html-pages/judmerit.html</u>.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.